ADVERTISEMENT

OT - rules question

Russ314

Well-Known Member
Gold Member
Mar 21, 2012
75
78
18
in last weekend's Iowa/OSU game, the Hawkeyes executed a fake FG play in which the snapper caught a pass from the holder. i've tried including a link below if you haven't seen the play. my question is this, how is the snapper considered an eligible receiver on a play like this? my understanding has always been that the only folks eligible to catch a pass were the two players on either end of the LOS and anybody not lined up on the line of scrimmage. is my understanding not correct and/or is there something different about FG/special team plays? feel like i'm missing something really simple/stupid.....story of my life


http://www.espn.com/college-footbal...pper-fake-field-goal-end-ohio-state-cfp-hopes
 
ADVERTISEMENT

Latest posts

ADVERTISEMENT

Go Big.
Get Premium.

Join Rivals to access this premium section.

  • Say your piece in exclusive fan communities.
  • Unlock Premium news from the largest network of experts.
  • Dominate with stats, athlete data, Rivals250 rankings, and more.
Log in or subscribe today Go Back