Golf: Illinois Trio to Contend at 122nd U.S. Amateur

bucshon

Publisher
Staff
Sep 16, 2006
60,424
77,591
113
PARAMUS, N.J. – Three members of the Fighting Illini men's golf team – returning fifth-year seniors Adrien Dumont de Chassart and Tommy Kuhl and rising junior Piercen Hunt – are set to represent the Orange & Blue when play opens Monday at the 122nd U.S. Amateur at The Ridgewood Country Club and stroke-play co-host venue Arcola Country Club.

The Illini trio will be part of a field of 312 competitors vying for the prestigious Havemeyer Trophy. The winner of the U.S. Amateur also earns exemptions from qualifying for the next 10 U.S. Amateurs, an exemption into the 2023 U.S. Open, and an exemption into the 2023 Open Championship (as an amateur), plus a likely invitation into the 2023 Masters Tournament (as an amateur).

Hunt and Kuhl finished 1-2, respectively, over 36 holes of local qualifying at Watertown Country Club in Watertown, Wis., on July 1, to punch their tickets to the U.S Amateur. Hunt secured medalist honors by carding rounds of 68 and 65 to close with a 133 (-7), while Kuhl shot a 135 (66-69) to finish two strokes off Hunt's pace and grab the second of three qualifying spots up for the taking at that site.

Dumont de Chassart is one of 63 competitors exempt from qualifying for this year's U.S. Amateur, carrying two separate waivers by virtue of both his top-50 status in the World Amateur Golf Rankings (WAGR) and his having previously qualified as one of 15 amateurs in the field this past June at the U.S. Open in Brookline, Mass. Dumont de Chassart, at No. 17, is one of 18 players in the field that are ranked inside the WAGR top 20 as of Aug. 3.

Competitors will play 18 holes of stroke play on Monday and Tuesday (one round at each course) before a cut down to 64 for Wednesday's opening round of match play. Thursday features the Round of 32, followed by quarterfinals on Friday, semifinals on Saturday, and culminating with Sunday's 36-hole championship match.

Live coverage is available throughout the week on Golf Channel and Peacock.

ILLINI TEE TIMES
Adrien Dumont de Chassart

Round 1: 1:39 p.m. ET/12:39 p.m. CT at Ridgewood Country Club
Round 2: 8:24 a.m. ET/7:24 p.m. CT at Arcola Country Club
Piercen Hunt

Round 1: 2:21 p.m. ET/1:21 p.m. CT at Arcola Country Club
Round 2: 9:26 a.m. ET/8:26 a.m. CT at Ridgewood Country Club
Tommy Kuhl

Round 1: 7:21 a.m. ET/6:21 a.m. CT at Arcola Country Club
Round 2: 12:56 p.m. ET/11:56 a.m. CT at Ridgewood Country Club
 
  • Like
Reactions: uiguy